Board Of Health

In New York State, county Boards of Health are empowered by the NYS Public Health Law to formulate, promulgate, and adopt public rules, regulations, orders and directions for the security of life and health in the county health districts.  

The Niagara County Board of Health was established in 1965 and is the policy making board for the Niagara County Department of Health. This Board is empowered to enforce provisions of both the New York State and Niagara County Sanitary Codes. The Board of Health also appoints the Public Health Director with the approval of the New York State Department of Health.

The Board of Health consists of ten (10) members as prescribed by New York State Public Health Law. Three members are physicians from Niagara County; three members are mayoral recommendation appointments - one from Niagara Falls, one from North Tonawanda and one from Lockport; three members are at-large appointments; and one is a member of the Niagara County Legislature. These appointments are all made by the Chairman of the Niagara County Legislature. In Niagara County, Board of Health members serve for a term of six (6) years, except the Legislature’s representative.

2024 Niagara County Board of Health Members


Jerome Ulatowski, MD ~ 5320 Military Road, Lewiston, NY 14092 ~ (716) 298-4454

Thomas Hughes, MD ~ Lockport, NY ~ (716) 439-7435

Donna Feldman, MD ~ 5927 Military Road, Lewiston, NY 14092 ~ Office: (716) 297-4023

Mayor's Recommendation

Kellie Nickerson ~ 324 Wheatfield Street, North Tonawanda, NY 14120 ~ (716) 439-7435

Erin DeMarco ~ Niagara Falls, NY  ~ (716) 439-7435  

Kyle Lambalzer ~ Lockport, NY 14094 ~ (716) 201-2169

At Large

Dominick Carden, PharmD ~ 5690 Locust Street, Lockport, NY 14094 ~ (718) 594-4894

Donald S. Lewis, DVM ~ 7312 Chestnut Ridge Road, Lockport, NY 14094 ~ Office: (716) 433-7062

Thomas Sy {PRESIDENT} ~ 7111 Northledge Drive, Lockport, NY 14094 ~ Cell: (716) 628-5133 

Member of Niagara County Legislature

Anthony Nemi ~ 67 S. New York Street, Lockport, NY 14094 ~ (716) 471-8177

2024 Board of Health Meeting Schedule