Fire Service

Niagara County is home to 32 fire departments.  Of these, 28 are 100% volunteer services with volunteer firefighters responding from their homes or places of work to help their communities.  Four of our fire departments are career departments, meaning that they are staffed 24/7/365 with paid firefighters.  Those career fire departments include the City of Lockport Fire Department, the City of Niagara Falls Fire Department, the City of North Tonawanda Fire Department and the Niagara Falls Air Reserve Fire Department.

In order to best coordinate the fire departments needs, we have divided our county into four larger "fire districts". 

Each of these districts includes 7-9 individual fire departments and is overseen by a fire service mutual aid deputy.  All 32 fire departments fall under the umbrella of the Niagara County Fire Coordinator's Office headed by Jonathan Schultz, who is also the Director of the Office of Emergency Services.

For more information about the fire service across New York State,  click here for the Firemen's Association of the State of New York website.

Interested in joining your local volunteer fire department?

Feel free to directly contact a member of your local department or you may contact the Office of Emergency Services by email to or by phone at (716) 438-3176 where you can leave your name, home address, and phone number so that we can pass your information along to the appropriate local fire chief.

Firefighters, follow us on Social Media:
Training and first responder information is available on our Facebook page @NiagaraCountyEmergencyServices  Niagara County Emergency Services