Discover Niagara Falls
You are here:   County Information

About Niagara County

Niagara County BicentennialNiagara County is one of the 62 counties that comprise the State of New York.  Niagara County consists of 3 cities (Niagara Falls, North Tonawanda and Lockport) and 12 towns (Cambria, Hartland, Lewiston, Lockport, Newfane, Niagara, Pendleton, Porter, Royalton, Somerset, Wheatfield and Wilson.)

 The name Niagara is of Native American origin and there are literally dozens of spellings and just as many alleged meanings.  One of the more interesting meanings is the interpretation “at the neck” referring to the Niagara River which joins Lakes Erie and Ontario.

 The County of Niagara was created in 1808, carved from Genesee County.  Initially, Niagara County comprised the area covered today by Erie and Niagara Counties. In 1821, Erie County was established. Following the split, a new government seat for Niagara County had to be established.  Initially Benjamin Barton, president of the Village of Lewiston, was chosen chairman, giving Lewiston the temporary honor of County Seat.  In 1823, it was relocated to Lockport where it remains to this day.

 Today, Niagara County is known for its agriculture and tourism industries as well as its long manufacturing history.  Given its proximity to Canada, Niagara County is important to international trade and commerce.  Niagara County draws millions of tourists each year who come to see Niagara Falls, the Erie Canal, the Niagara Wine Trail and host of other attractions.  Learn more about what Niagara has to offer at







 Niagara County Bicentennial